Why be reluctant to retire?

  • How retirement snuck up on me

I had been on a new job for less than three months in 2008, when the Fortune 50 company that I worked for offered a separation incentive for managers that had been with the company for 20 years or more.  I had worked there for 34 years.  I had also been promoted from a job as a skilled trades welder and fabricator after applying and being rejected for over 40 other positions.  I liked my welding position where I had become the expert on drawing and operating a CNC cutting machine, as well as bending and welding fabrications.  It was a good job!  I was at the  top of the scale for union employees and had recently worked a lot of overtime.

But, the new job had its advantages, too (a pay raise, matching 401k, incentive pay, advancement possibilities), not to mention that I was getting older and looking for a less physically demanding job that I could do more easily as I aged.  The new job was being an IT Analyst, specifically, working on a Voice team that supported a new voice over ip (VOIP) system of telephones for employees, suppliers, contractors, call centers all around the world.   I worked in a building with other employees that set up WANs, LANs, and firewalls, but ours was the only section that dealt directly with the end users (EU), the actual phone users. 

Specifically, I did name changes, set up new phones and “soft” phones (phones that work from your computer  screen), voicemail, and billing.  I was level 1.5, which meant that I did not have to physically go any  of the phones that I was working on.  I could change settings on a phone in another hemisphere or reset a server from my cubicle.  Perhaps, I could have shaved the walls of my cubicle for more space as a promotion reward.

Another advantage was that I could work at home when I sick or the weather was bad.  I had VPN software on my laptop, would plug in my skype phone, and it was the same as sitting at my desk at the office, sans all the meetings.  I was on my way to my own 4 hour workweek (http://www.fourhourworkweek.com/blog/).

I think that is enough technical talk for now.  I will give some more family work history and my background to show how I developed my interests and work ethic in my next post.

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in CNC, retirement, Uncategorized, voip, welder. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

