How can you turn down 15 months of pay to not work?

I took it!

I couldn’t turn down this offer.  I was too old and did not have enough time to make up the money, even if I stayed to age 66 and got full Social Security.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining about the bonus!  Some other workers we fired only two weeks later with nothing to show for staying longer.  I waited until the last day to sign up.

It just didn’t feel right

My father retired in 1976 when he turned 65.  Not because he wanted to, it was Federal law – mandatory retirement at 65.  He actually went to the unemployment office, threw a fit, and got approved.  A few months later he messed that up by working too much at his brother’s gas station.  But, he kept working, mowing yards and cemeteries, delivering meals and washing dishes until my Mother made him stop.  Then he died.  Not from not working, but it seemed so at the time.  Check out this Yahoo Finance about older retirement age rules; http://finance.yahoo.com/focus-retirement/article/110210/stressed-states-are-forcing-workers-to-retire-later?mod=fidelity-readytoretire&cat=fidelity_2010_getting_ready_to_retire

Maybe it won’t be so bad.

I had done contract IT work before; setting up wireless, replacing hard drives, troubleshooting, and upgrading network equipment (routers and switches).  I even had a Cisco Networking degree, along with three IT certifications.  Before, I had to take take time off from my day job to do this IT work.  Now I have unlimited time.

How did that work?

Not so good!  I will get into it in my next post.  Anybody else have experience with retirement jobs?

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in IT, retirement, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

