Bokashi Composting

Weekly “Chore” Becomes Daily

Like many suburbanites in the US I mow my yard every week, maybe letting it go a little longer in hot weather.  I have a quarter acre lot with four huge trees in the backyard.  Parts of the yard are shaded and with traffic it is difficult to grow grass.  I have tilled up, added soil emendments and seeded several times.  To protect the seed and hold moisture I have mulched with straw. 

I also had to get a new lawn mower this year, a major purchase for a retiree,  after my faithful 12-year-old Lawn Boy needed expensive repairs that I could no longer do myself.  The new mower has a bag for the grass, and I began cutting and bagging the grass-straw combo.

One thing leads to another

I know, I know, it is not ecologically sustainable to buy and haul bales of straw from a farm or nursery, but I have a small garden and I use the grass-straw mixture to make a compost heap.  I also am aware of the arguments against composting:  it is unnatural, an imbalance in the carbon-nitrogen ratio results in an incomplete process, etc.  But I make a pile every week, and by turning it every day, I get exercise and a finished pile of compost every week.

Next post I’ll get into how this led into vermiposting and “extreme” bokashi composting and how they all work together to feed my plants and my spirit.

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bokashi composting, composting, exercise, retirement, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

