Mowing and Compost Day

Yesterday was mowing day and I dispersed all of last week’s compost on my yard and garden and made a new heap as I mowed.  I also drained my bokashi bucket and decided to take a few pictures, so here goes!

These are 14 gallon plastic tubs with snap-on lids.  At each end of each tub, just below the handle, is a three-inch diameter aluminum soffit vent.  You need a three-inch holesaw and drill to make a tight-fitting hole.  There are no drains in the bottom so that I can carry the tubs into my basement when it gets cold without water dripping onto my basement floor.  You have to make sure to not let water pool in the bottom or the worms will drown.  I used to have a plywood box, but it did not have a tight-fitting lid, and snakes got in and gorged themselves on the worms!

An Intrusion

Here’s a look inside one of my worm bins.

I soak newspapers, wring out excess water, and tear into one-inch or less wide strips, in order to prevent the bedding from “clumping” up and hindering air circulation.  A “hot” compost process and vermiposting are both aerobic processes, bokashi is anaerobic.  You can also use cardboard, straw, compost, etc. for bedding.

My Bokashi Bucket

This is actually two buckets nestled together.

These two buckets are identical.  The flange on the top bucket seals against the rim of the bottom bucket when stacked together.  The top bucket has about a dozen small holes drilled in the bottom (You could use a hammer and nail instead.) to allow the liquid to drain off.  Drain the liquid off every other day.  I think the buckets cost $2.99 each, plus $.99 for each lid. 

Alternate Methods

You could use one bucket and install a drain or use inoculated newspaper or sawdust to absorb moisture.

Finished Product

A couple of pix of the finished product.

Sure don’t look like dead fish!

And it smells better, too!  The bucket is nearly empty.  I did not allow enough lead time and now I have to wait until my EM serum is done to start another bucket.  Soon as my serum’s done, I am going to start two buckets , one wet, one dry, at staggered times.  That way I’ll always have a batch working.

It’s a Handful

To finish the bokashi, you need to either

  • bury it
  • feed it to worms
  • place in active compost heap

The worms have plenty, so I am adding the bokashi to my new compost pile.  It is soft and squishy, and being fermented has a not unpleasant sweet/sour smell.

Stay Tuned for Next Time

Training Day; preparing for a worthy cause, http://5kforwishes.eventbrite.com/

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bokashi composting, composting, Make a Wish, retirement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

