Training Day

A good action-drama film from 2001 that stars Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke!  Well, I had a little more than one training day to prepare for an upcoming charity run, but not much more, and certainly not enough training.

5k for Wish

I found out about a local fundraiser, http: //5kforwishes.eventbrite.com/, a 5k footrace for Make-A- Wish, http://www.wish.org/ , last Tuesday, and I immediately wanted to participate.  You see, I have a grandson who was born with half a heart.  He has had three open-heart surgeries to “correct” this condition.  “So, he’s OK  now?  He looks normal.”  are comments that his parents routinely hear.  I have heard, “What?  He has a hole in his heart?” Some people just can not/do not want to hear your explanation.  Their sense of mortality is heightened, and the possibility of a child dying before his or  her parent does is unbearable to think about. 

A morally acceptable choice that his parents had at his birth  at a “right-to-life” hospital was to do nothing and allow him to die.  This was the only choice a few years ago.  But they didn’t, Thank God!, and now he is my lost sheep that I would abandon the flock for to go search for!

Success

Anyways, I trained on Tuesday and Wednesday, went long on Thursday, tapered on Friday (did nothing) and raced on Saturday.  “I won!”  Ok, so no one else raced in my age group.  The Make-A-Wish kids were the real winners.  Children with life-threatening, debilitating medical conditions are granted a wish to do something that they would otherwise be unable to do.

So, check it out.  This is one of my favorite causes.

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in exercise, Make a Wish, retirement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

