Old Computers

Compaq Deskpro

I have some old PII and PIII computers downstairs and I have been trying to turn them into something useful.  The hard drives have been wiped and there is no BIOS utility present on any of them.  My Xubuntu Posted CD will not load (nor will W2K load from a CD).  I really need DOS, but you cannot find/buy it unless you go to an unsafe file-sharing site.  I did find and download the BIOS utility, but it is too large to put on a 1.44 MB floppy, so I found and downloaded a shareware file-splitting program and split the BIOS utility file into two parts and copied each part onto a floppy disk.  Of course, this still doesn’t work without an OS.  Ah, for the olden days when you loaded DOS, then Win3.x, then Win95!  A waste of time, you say?  Naw, it was a challenge and I learned something new.

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in computers, creativity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

