Back to Bokashi

Compost

I mowed yesterday, and after spreading my finished compost around, I started another compost pile.  So, since it was a nice day, I turned the pile and did some work on my bokashi buckets.  Some of it is experimental, so I will try to deal with it in list format to remember all that I have done:

Bokashi

  • Laid out two pounds of wheat bran that has been inoculated with lactobacillus serum to dry outside spread out on my picnic table.  It has been a while coming!
  • Inoculated 28 full newspaper sheets with some of the remainder of the serum that I started 16 days ago.  Then I placed all the folded newspapers in a one-and-a-half gallon zip-close plastic freezer storage bag, squeezed the air out, and placed the closed bag in a cool dark place in my basement to allow the papers to ferment.
  • Checked my other bag of inoculated newspapers and decided to allow them to ferment a while longer before drying them.  I have my inoculated wheat bran ready for action in my “wet” bokashi bucket.
  •  Decided to try making serum from barley, instead of rice.  Why not?  Why don’t you try soy?

Questions

  • What exactly are the effective microorganisms?
  • What are indigenous organisms?  Do you have to use imported rice, non-chlorinated water?
  • How about using packaged yeast, since this is a fermentation process?  Which one, baker’s, lager beer, ale, or wine yeast?
  • How about malting or mashing the grain?  EM can reportedly survive 5,000 degrees F.

I will follow up with pictures later.  Happy composting!

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bokashi composting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

