Bokashi and Babysitting

Bokashi Overload

I am having a hard time remembering when I started my inoculated bran flakes and newspapers.  When you make your own inoculant from scratch, as I do, you end up with about a gallon of fermented lactobacillus.  A tablespoon of lactobacillus, mixed with a tablespoon of molasses and a cup of water is enough to inoculate one pound of bran flakes.  So, unless you are making a large batch of bokashi starter, you have over a half-gallon of lactobacillus mixture left over!

The leftover mixture only has a shelf life of a month, so I soaked about 50 sheets of newspaper today and closed them into airtight freezer bags.  Then I soaked a few more sheets of newspaper, tore them into strips, and added them to my worm bins.  The paper is bedding, but the worms love eating the bacteria!

I poured some more into my sprayer, added some compost tea, then proceeded to spray my garden and landscaping plants.  Finally, I dumped the rest onto my freshly started compost heap.  This will help break down the organic matter.

Babysitting

Two doctor’s appointments with grandchildren (missed the x-ray for the broken finger), a rare computer repair job, and plans to travel and help another relative cope with chemotherapy seem to dictate that I make my post today.

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in babysitter, bokashi composting, composting, retirement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

