Newer Old Computers

Unpaid Computer/Network Administrator

Well, actually I had a paid contract computer repair job two weeks ago.  It was simple:  Travel to another town, replace a hard drive, and start the recovery disk.  A few days later I got a call to go back and swap out the motherboard.  I turned that job down.  Another tech accepted.  A few days later, I saw another job from another employer:  Remove malware and virus.  Nope, didn’t take that job either, even after the spend limit was increased.  All for a six year old computer!

Computers Left Over From Upgrade

I happened to notice that a local junior was offering used computers for sale, so I got up early (for me) and got in line before the bookstore (where they were being sold) opened.  You could buy a maximum of two computers, but only one could be a laptop.  So, I scored a Gateway 400vtx and a MPC Client Pro desktop PC.

 

Purchased PC's

 

The mouse and keyboard came with the desktop.  An AC adaptor/battery charger came with the laptop.  Both had a fresh install of XP Professional, SP3, plus Open Office installed.  No monitor came with the desktop.  The total?  Sixty dollars, plus tax.

Laptop Mods

I am giving the laptop to my grandson for his birthday, so first thing I did was hook the laptop up to a switch port on my router and downloaded AVG Free anti-virus (my preference, due to familiarity) and set up Windows Update.

After downloading and installing 46 critical updates, it was time to set up wireless, no mini-card available.  I tried a Zonet g usb adapter, but it did not want to work with my Netgear N router, plus it was too wide for a thumb drive to be plugged in next to it.  I then tried an AirLink 101 Golden 150 Wireless Mini USB adaptor, problem solved!  I leave it running so that it is updated.  It works upstairs, downstairs, and anywhere in my 1/4 acre yard.

Desktop Updates in a Later Update

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in computers, retirement, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

