Newer Old Computers: Part II

Desktop Upgrade

I had a few upgrades for the MPC Client Pro desktop computer that I referred to in my last post.  First, I downloaded and installed AVG Free Anti-Virus software, then set up Windows Updates and installed all critical updates.  Next, I swapped out the CD-R/DVD combo drive for a DVD-R drive.  I added speakers for sound and tried to play a movie.  It needed a codec, so I installed Power DVD, then it was ready.  Finally, it needed a wireless adapter, so that I could move it around.  I found an old d-Link PCI g card, installed the software, then installed the card.  I also installed another 512MB DDR memory chip while I had the case open.

Then, I got on the Internet and logged into one of my email accounts.  There was a message that said that this site needed a higher video resolution for optimal viewing, so I went into Control Panel and slid the video resolution bar all the way to the right.  Uh-oh!  Nothing but lines on the screen, can’t get back into Control Panel.  I restarted, got into BIOS once and changed the shared video RAM from 64MB to 256MB.  But this still didn’t help!  I could no longer figure how to get back into BIOS.  Finally, I shut the PC down and hooked up a newer monitor that I had on hand.  This allowed me to get back into Control Panel and turn down the settings so that the older monitor would work  Whew!

What am I going to do with this old computer?  Eventually, I need to install a Cat 6 networking jack in the basement room where the computer is located, so that I can hook up my newly-acquired Cisco switch, along with some routers and set up a VOIP lab.  The Cat 6 cable is already run from my Internet router upstairs.

But for now, I may loan the computer to my daughter, so that I can upgrade her CPU from a 1.6GHz dual-core to a faster quad core and speed up a sluggish computer.  I will have to do my research first.  I guess that I am a minimalist, but I just love tinkering with old computers!

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in computers, retirement, Uncategorized, voip and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

