Barley Bokashi Interim Report

It Just Works!

Last Wednesday I scooped the curds off my bokashi serum and put a handful into each of my red worm bins.

 

Curd Skimming/Worm Feeding

 

The bugs started coming, so I covered it up with bedding.  I could have put it in my compost heap and covered it also.  Smell?  Naw, like cheese or yogurt or pickles or something, kind of sour.  If you have made bokashi starter with rice, the smell is the same.  The main difference?  Traditionally, you are supposed to use imported rice for the microorganisms from the foreign soil.  With barley, you wash it the same as rice, but I would bet that most barley is grown in the USA, or maybe Canada.  The mystique has been shattered!

I checked on the worm bins two days later, could find no trace of the curds, only a congregation of fat worms with grins on their faces!  They’ll just poop it out and leave it for  me to clean up!

Inoculating the Medium for Fermenting the Garbage (the next to end goal)

I bought two one-pound boxes of wheat bran cereal at the grocery store.  This is plenty to do my five-gallon bucket of garbage and it is a quick job to mix it up.  If you want to get a 50 pound sack and big jug of molasses at a feed store, knock yourself out!  You see, for each pound of bran, you need only one tablespoon (that’s right, 1 tbsp.) of “serum”, one tablespoon of molasses, all mixed in one cup of warm water.  So, starting with less than a cup of barley (or rice, whatever), you can make enough “serum” to “innoculate” about 250 pounds of wheat bran!

 

My bokashistuf

 

Put the “innoculated” bran in an airtight, sealed container,  in a dark place, and don’t open the lid, don’t even peek for at least two weeks.

I have a bale of straw at hand, so I also “innoculated” a 2 and 1/2 gallon freezer bag full of straw, squeezed air out, and zipped it closed.  Why?  Because I can, and nobody else has done it!

Rice Wash made with Yeast Update

This is an actual, working mixture.  I proofed a packet of baker’s yeast and added it to a previous batch of “serum” to help the fermentation get started, long story.  Anyway, the bucket is over half full of fermenting garbage.  Again, no bad smell.  It is the two-nested bucket design, no spigot variation.  I took them outside to drain off the liquid, but since I had lined the bottom with three inches of dry straw, no liquid was present.  Anyways, it all works.  It’s all good!

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bokashi composting, composting, retirement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

