Drink Your Bokashi Juice Update?

Making Kombucha

My last post I discussed the advantages of pre- and probiotics, so I decided to make my own kombucha tea.  The reason I like this idea is that it is sustainable, i.e., you can start the process and keep it going indefinitely at little expense, similar to making sourdough bread (Hmmm, sounds like the basis for another bokashi experiment).  I may drink some of the tea, plus use some for a bokashi starter (to ferment garbage, leaves, old newspapers, wood chips, you name it).

You Need a SCOBY

In my eagerness to get started, I overlooked the requirement of having a SCOBY (Symbiotic Combination Of Bacteria and Yeast), a live organism that looks like a mushroom.  I just raced ahead with two quarts of tea using this recipe:  http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Kombucha-Tea

This, while not optimal, will still work.  The problem is that my house is cold.  Fermentation is happening (easy to tell from the sweet, alcoholic smell).  So, yesterday I moved my cracker jar from upstairs to the basement and sat it on my water heater.  Perfect!  When I checked today, the SCOBY is starting to form.

Here’s the cracker jar with the kombucha tea fermenting.

An up-close shot showing the SCOBY ‘shroom starting to form.


About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bokashi composting, composting, kombucha, retirement, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Drink Your Bokashi Juice Update?

  1. akolen says:

    You found a Scoby in a healthfood store? I have been trying to find one locally without any luck. What an interesting blog you have. Never heard of bokashi until now. We are just getting into starting worm composting. I need to find some red wigglers.
    Well, good luck and continue to have fun with retirement.

    Like

    • No, no Scoby in a healthfood store. They are available on ebay and may be available locally on craigslist. I do not know how they ship them without spoiling/dying. I was unable to find any locally, so I grew my own. I bought a 480ml bottle of GT’s Organic Raw Kombucha (original, blue label) at a combination healthfood/natural grocery food store in the refrigerator section. I also found it in the natural foods section of a HyVee grocery store. This kombucha contains live cultures and can be used, along with your own tea and sugar to make a scoby. As long as you keep feeding the scoby, it will make daughters and keep growing. See my later posts. I drink some of the tea and re-ferment some with worm castings and molasses in gallon milk jugs. I then inoculate leaves, garbage, newspapers, etc. to make bokashi. I just bought my red wigglers at gas stations near a river and let them multiply.
      I really liked how well you explained the different composting options. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. GW says:

    Hi!

    I came across your blog after some google searching on Bokashi composting. I’m really interested in brewing Kombucha to drink but also wanted to know how you use it in the Bokashi bucket- do you just pour the tea over the kitchen food waste? Doesn’t this end up producing a lot of liquid? I would be grateful for any feedback!

    Like

    • Hi, GW
      I re-ferment the kombucha tea using worm castings,molasses, and water. Then I ferment old newspapers or coffee grounds with the tea. After two weeks of anaerobic fermentation, I spread the coffee grounds or newspaper out to dry. This halts the fermentation and they can be stored indefinitely. I then use as needed in the bokashi bucket. The moisture in the garbage re-activates the organisms. The dry material absorbs the moisture and all is well. It sounds complicated, but I find it easy to do. Thanks for the comment!

      Caseynet

      Like

      • GW says:

        Great!

        Thanks for the tips. I tried my first Kombucha tea recently and will be growing my own SCOBY soon!

        Like

      • GW says:

        Just a quick question. Is it possible to leave the Kombucha tea with molasses to re-ferment in a carton and seal it? Does it need to be uncapped to stop the cultures dying? I’m also wondering as my space is limited, I might be tricky to dry the paper/coffee ground bokashi mixture. Can I keep the bokashi liquid and then use it in the bokashi bucket but mix it with shredded paper at the time I needed it to soak up some of the liquid being added to the bucket?

        Thank you!

        Like

      • GW,
        Yes, the tea seems to last a long time in a sealed up jug, especially if you put a scoby in the bottle. You will have plenty after you have made several batches of kombucha. Be sure to loosen the cap often at first to allow carbon dioxide to escape.
        I think that you should be able to add the liquid directly to the bokashi bucket if you use absorbent material. I have never tried. The only buckets that I have had fail were those with too much liquid in the bucket. You should get the hang of it. Good luck!
        Caseynet

        Like

  3. GW says:

    Thank you for the replies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

