Feed Your Dirt?: Part Two

Garden’s Done

When I say feed your dirt, I am referring to improving your soil which will benefit anything that is growing in that soil.  Since I did not plant a fall garden (my bad!), I still need to use the output of my compost pile, worm bins, and bokashi buckets.  I have several bags of leaves that I have mulched with my lawnmower, plus a bale of straw. I explained in my last post that I buried the curds from a rye/milk wash in two of the bags.  In the other three bags I poured most of the kombucha tea/molasses/worm casting mixture from the three bottles that had been fermenting for a week in my basement.

With the remainder in the jugs, I mixed in some more molasses, worm castings, and water, then poured the mixture in the bags in order to get all the leaf mulch wet.  I also emptied out one of my bokashi buckets that had finished fermenting into all five bags.  I will let these bags set outside until spring then use them.

Straw

I found that a bale of straw would just fit in a heavy-duty large garbage bag, so I put the bale of straw in.  Then I added some of the fermented garbage, plus some of the tea mixture in order to inoculate the straw.  I then put another bag across the top to seal out air.

 

fermenting straw bale

 

It has been fermenting for about a week.  I think that I will spread most of the straw out on my yard and run the mower one more time to chew up the rest of the leaves on my yard.  I will save a little bit of straw to absorb the liquid in my bokashi buckets.  What do you do with your garbage?

 

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bokashi, bokashi composting, compost, composting, kombucha, retirement, vermiposting, worm castings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

