Winter Bokashi II

Friday, February 11, 2011

I thought that I would put some of my finished kombucha bokashi in my leaf mold bags and try to ferment the leaf/grass mixture.

I had my finished bokashi, refermented kombucha tea, and an empty lawn and garden bag to alternate layers of leaves and bokashi, with extra tea to dampen the dry leaves.  Hold on!  The leaves already had plenty of moisture and were frozen into one big clump.  I went to town, stopped by Starbucks, and picked up three five pound bags of coffee grounds.

So I poured 3/4 of the gallon of kombucha into the three bags and sealed them up.  Nothing is going to happen until it warms up, but the bacteria will bide their time (I think).

Abort, Retry, Fail?

Today was a different story.  The temperature got up into the 50’s.  I brought the bucket, bag, and another gallon of tea to bear on the problem.

You probably notice that there is a lot less snow in the picture.  I layered the leaves from one bag into the new bag with bokashi interspersed and some tea added.

I get a new bag full, along with an empty bucket, and almost empty milk jug.

The last step is to stop by the shed and squish down some straw in the bottom of the bucket to use as absorbent material.  I have pretty much adopted the single dry bucket method of making bokashi.  By avoiding foods with too much moisture, I do not have to drain the bucket every other day.

Bokashi Etcetera

Since I learned that coffee grounds could be fermented, I have picked up another 20 pound bag and four of the 5-pound bags.  I figured that the bags work as well as the bucket.  I just open the bags, mix in a quart of re-fermented kombucha tea per five pounds, reseal and wait.  I know it’s not a sustainable practice, but I am saving it from the landfill.  Any questions, suggestions, comments?  Calling all mad scientists!

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bokashi, bokashi composting, compost, composting, green, kombucha, Peoria, IL, retirement, Uncategorized, vermiposting, worm castings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Winter Bokashi II

  1. shanegenziuk says:

    Awesome work mate. Great idea to add coffee grounds to the mix. Please let us know how it goes.

    Like

  2. Thanks for checking out my blog and leaving me a “like”! I have read several of your posts and will return. I am amazed at the meticulous processes you appear to engage in with your composting. I’m ever so much lazier. It’s been a few years since I’ve had a really serious garden, but this year I intend to go all out. It looks as if you have definitely found some ways to adjust to retirement. Happy growing!

    Like

  3. harpingjanet says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog about my new worm bin and “liking” it. And having read some of your bokashi posts, I find there’s a whole new way to compost that I’ve never heard of before. I can’t imagine how many billions of names I’d have to come up with for such a herd of microorganisms. I’ll be back to learn more.
    Janet
    ps. I retired last October – interesting adventure, huh?!?

    Like

    • Hi, Janet
      I liked the simplicity of your worm bin. You are going to need a lot of names for your worms. I feed them trillions (?) of microorganisms from the bokashi, but they gobble them up and ask for more. Retirement is an interesting adventure – nothing that I could have envisioned.
      caseynet

      Like

  4. Edward says:

    How did you bakashi coffee grounds doing? Was it a secession? How did you use them after fermenting? Can they be used as worm feed? Did you put them into the soil and had some positive results?

    Like

    • Hi, Edward
      I mainly use fermented coffee grounds in the bokashi bucket to ferment other garbage.

      Like

      • craziedde says:

        So far I tried to ferment cardboards with whey ( left after yogurt making )
        So far so good.. What I like about cardboard is that they retain the moisture very well ( but on the other hand they have no nutritious value and to ferment them you need to add sugar as food for whey bacteria go catch up, ). But on the other had they offset the moisture from food scraps.. and I like that a lot….
        Now looking to try to ferment the used coffee grounds.
        Makes me wonder how fast coffee grounds will decompose?
        I’m pretty sure you had a good success with fermenting it and using as a starter. Was it a good powerful starter in your option?

        Like

      • Edd,
        Since I use a dry bucket method for my bokashi, I dry the innoculator, whether it is newspaper, cardboard, or coffee grounds before using in the bucket. Coffee grounds decompose faster than cardboard, due to their nitrogen content. Yes, coffee grounds are a powerful starter, good soil amendment, and are good to use around acid-loving plants. Good luck and thanks for the comment!
        reluctantretiree

        Like

    • Hi, Edward
      I use fermented coffee grounds in the bokashi bucket. Worms love bokashi, including coffee grounds. They are a great soil amendment!

      Like

  5. Edward says:

    Was it a secession? -> Was it success?

    Like

Leave a Reply

