Bokashi Bucket Burying

Full Bucket

I usually don’t wait this long to empty my bokashi buckets, but I procrastinated in getting another bucket ready, so this one was full to the brim.  Sometimes I top off the bucket with spent coffee grounds to speed up the process.  This bucket had fermented undisturbed for two weeks.

Where It’s Going

I dug two trenches that intersect in the middle of this 4×4 raised bed.

What’s Under the Paper?

Looks like potato skins and orange peels.  I usually eat my potato skins, but someone else did not!  My worms would not have liked the orange peels (citric acid).


Next Layer

Corn cobs from corn-on-the-cob and pork chop bones.


Pick a Topic;

  • eating meat
  • eating pork
  • including meat scraps in one’s bokashi bucket
  • putting bones in the bucket

Discuss amongst yourselves.

Next

A catfish carcass, surrounded by coffee grounds and another orange peel.


Bottom of the Bucket

No, I wasn’t intentionally trying to make a cross.  It just seemed convenient to pile the dirt in the four corners.  This is slightly damp straw from the bottom of the bucket.  It acts to absorb liquid from the garbage, since I use the dry-bucket method (no double-stacked buckets or drain near the bottom of the bucket).  I use plenty of straw since it also ferments and speeds up the bucket-filling process.

Missed a Step


I had dirty hands and forgot to take a picture after I replaced the dirt over the trenches.  The bokashi needs to be covered by at least five inches of soil, which I did.  Then I heaped some partially decomposed compost on top.

Burning Brush/Making Charcoal


While I was burying the bokashi, I also burned some brush that I had accumulated in the yard.  I dug a shallow pit and started a fire.  When I had it going well, I began covering the burning wood with one inch of dirt to allow it to smolder and make charcoal.  It burned for several days.  I want to knock the charred wood off the outside and use it for making fertilizer.


About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in biochar, bokashi, bokashi composting, compost, composting, kombucha, Uncategorized, vermiposting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bokashi Bucket Burying

  1. Your topics are amazing and some that I am unfamiliar with. A hands-on, experiment-with-everything type of gardener, I’m going to try bokashi and some of the techniques in your other blogs. Thanks for the ideas. I’ll write a blog soon about one of my experiments this year– planting a fish in the hole with corn seeds.

    Like

  2. mustbewrite says:

    Wow, you’re a very busy “retiree” but that’s a misnomer, isn’t it? I’ve enjoyed reading through your blog, seeing what you’re doing in a much more organised way than me, I fear. Different continents, different terminology – but the same aims and rewards. Happy harvesting!

    Like

  3. Hello, Sir! I enjoy reading your blog. Though I garden blog and am a Master Gardener, I am still so learning – I did both so I would learn more! And it helps me keep prompt with the doings of the season! Thanks for your inspiration to try new things, and thanks for your wonderful sense of humor! Stay dirty, Cerena

    Like

    • Hi, Madame! Congrats on MG. I became inspired to try bokashi after reading about a MG who also became a Master Composter (compost heap, vermiposting, and bokashi). Thanks for your planning list for a fall garden. I see a successful life of blogging, gardening, and inspiring others in your future.

      Like

  4. Bless your heart! Just got back from my community garden plots, cleanup, drenching with bleach/aspirin/soap mix to slow down the wilts fungi, harvest, watering. Tomorrow it’s feed-the-worms time. I’m going to peruse your site for the bokashi info. I had never heard of it before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

