Alt Bokashi Bucket Burying

Hot Compost Pile

This time I dumped my aged (two weeks) bokashi bucket in a hot compost pile that I was building.

I started with a bag of grass/straw clippings from my lawnmower bag.  As you can see, some of the bucket is missing.  I put about three handfuls in each of my 14-gallon worm tubs.

A few days later, the worms are tearing it up!  Yeah, it’s initially acidic, but now the fermented smell is gone, and soon the bokashi will also be gone.

Let’s see, covered it up with fermented leaf mold, sprinkled a little bone meal on the pile, and it was ready for another bag of straw/grass.

Oops, the rest of the bucket poured out, including the slightly damp straw on the bottom.  Oh, well, it will all be mixed together after the pile is turned a few times.  I continued piling the straw/grass mixture on top until I was done mowing.

Other Thoughts

I may have also added;

  • dirt
  • fish emulsion
  • homemade charcoal
  • worm castings (since the worms have been fed bokashi, it’s a little redundant, isn’t it?)
  • kombucha tea that has been re-fermented with worm castings (see worm castings, above).
  • used coffee grounds, either fermented (bokaffee?), or not.

That’s enough for now.  I am going outside to turn this heap/get my upper body workout/do my moving meditation.

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in biochar, bokashi, bokashi composting, compost, composting, exercise, green, kombucha, retirement, vermiposting, worm castings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Alt Bokashi Bucket Burying

  1. I know all about commercial Bokashi from Organic Environment Technology http://www.effens.com/our-products/magic-bokashi-composter/ Do you use a commercial grade bokashi with effective microorganisms to start you hot compost. Do you have a farm? I would love to talk with you

    Cynthia (510) 659-6330

    Like

    • When I make hot compost, I gather all my materials at the same time. This time I just happened to have a bucket of bokashi ready and needed somewhere to cover it up away from varmints. I do not buy any compost starter, but I have used bokashi in previous compost heaps, worm castings from worms that have been fed bokashi, leaf mold inoculated with bokashi, etc. I do not know if my bokashi is commercial grade, or not, it has never been graded. I do not have a farm, nor the money to buy one. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  2. Great job! I, too feed my non-meat bokashi fermented food waste to my worms. They turn it around with the quickness…i find in about half the time it takes normally. This means more castings in less time!

    Like

  3. site says:

    Even though I genuinely like this post, I think there was an spelling error close towards the end of your third sentence.

    Like

Leave a Reply

