Bokashi Lottery Aftermath

Planters with Dirt

If you recall from my last post, I had a lot of ruined food when my refrigerator suddenly quit working without warning!  I fed some to my worms.  The rest I used to fill up a five-gallon bucket, layered with inoculated newspaper and coffee grounds (bokaffee?).  That was on the 10th of July.  Today I decided to dump the contents of the bucket into these three planters for two more weeks of aging.  I know, you’re supposed to let it sit for two weeks, but I needed something to do.  I  dumped the dirt out and put a couple of inches of dirt back in the bottom.

Aftermath

I dumped the bokashi bucket in the three planters, shoveled in the rest of the dirt, and topped off with compost.  In two weeks, the dirt in the planters should be ready to use.  I guess that this is another way to use bokashi.  Anybody else tried this?

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bokashi, bokashi composting, compost, composting, kombucha, vermiposting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bokashi Lottery Aftermath

  1. bokashi is one type of composting I am. a bit skeptical about. you seem to be able to do it w/o issue. is this method worth the effort? any special advantages over vermicomposting or hot compost? just curious. thanks!

    Like

    • Well, I do bokashi and vermicomposting year-round. I also keep a hot compost pile going spring, summer, and fall. In the winter, I can only dispose of meat and fat by putting it through the bokashi bucket, which I can do indoors. I think all three methods complement each other. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

    • Awesome! Anybody in your community garden group have any bokashi to feed the worms? Ken

      Like

  2. Lisa says:

    So interesting…never heard of a bokashi bucket before…but this is a really neat idea! Found this website that I thought was a good overview…http://www.leangreenhome.co.uk/bokashi/

    Hmmm…this is fodder for thought!

    Like

    • Lisa,
      I like your idea of living shalom! It seems to me that wellness and peace are sometimes neglected in this fast-paced world. Bokashi seems complicated and expensive at first look, but can be done cheaply indoors, year-round, if you learn to make your own ingredients and bucket. No smell and grease, meat scraps, bones, dairy all go into the bucket. Maybe a separate bucket for meat and dairy in order to keep kosher?? I would have to ask a rabbi! Thanks for the comment!
      Ken

      Like

Leave a Reply

