Finished Bokashi

Twenty days ago I put a small amount of dirt,  some bokashi, and more dirt into this planter.  I did not plant anything in the planter since then, so yesterday, I dumped the planter and decided to incorporate the contents into a compost pile that I had started the day before.

Here’s the output.  No flies, no smell.  I can still pick out small bits of straw and a corn cob, but mostly it just looks like black dirt.  I put it on the bottom of the compost heap and today, when I turned the heap again, I couldn’t find anything that looked like bokashi.

As a bonus, this planter has a hole near the bottom to allow water to drain.  When I want to water plants, I drain the remaining bokashi juice/compost tea into another bucket, dilute with more water, and use it water/fertilize.

About reluctantretiree

recent last-minute retiree, husband, father, grandfather, student, technology nerd, fabricator, builder, etc., trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bokashi, bokashi composting, compost, composting, kombucha, Uncategorized, worm castings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Finished Bokashi

  1. Reluctantretiree, Nice job on the bokashi above. Looks fertile! I am planning The Big BK Seed, Etc., Exchange for 9/17 or 9/24. Wondering if you wanted to come and share some insight into bokashi composting … maybe give a little tutorial and get some seeds in exchange? Let me know what you think. I’m interested in learning more about this approach. Revel on!

    Like

    • Katherine,
      I am flattered, but I must decline. I have other obligations and a trip to the Big Apple is not in my budget. I am interested in learning more about seed saving. I followed in the paper the President’s local trip to Decorah, Iowa. He received some seeds from Thomas Jefferson’s garden. Some of them were brought to then-President Jefferson by Lewis and Clark. Thanks for the comment and invite!

      Ken

      Like

  2. annisveggies says:

    Hi
    It looks as though you are keeping yourself busy with all this experimenting. I have only had time to glance at your blog tonight, but it is very interesting. Is the finished material from the Bokashi process extra nutritious for the garden by any chance?
    Anni Kelsey

    Like

    • Anni,

      I do work with my bokashi, vermipost, and compost every day. I do not have any scientific proof that bokashi is any better than any other fertilizer. The fermented garbage must be in contact with dirt in order to finish breaking down, where it reputedly adds Beneficial Organisms to the soil. The juice is a good fertilizer when diluted. I do have some bokashi buried for a fall garden after the weather cools. We will see how it does. It seems that you are way ahead of me in soil emendments. I like your lasagna recipe. I had never heard of planting chicory. I have drunk chicory coffee in New Orleans, though, and like it! Thanks for the comment and good luck!

      Ken

      Like

  3. I enjoyed reading about your compost! I have not added any bone meal or organic fertilizers to mine, and I might start doing that.

    Like

  4. I enjoyed reading about your compost! I have not tried adding organic fertilizers to mine, and I think I will try that!

    Like

  5. That is absolutely beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

